The Regulars are attacking the Fort!

Arrived on Friday afternoon for the setup of the camp. We established our encampment outside the fort, in an attempt to defend it against the reports of British regulars in the area. The hospital tent went up well, but, with room getting tight as more units arrive, the hospital became locked into a dead-end street. It will be difficult to treat the men there, so I will need to make plans to perform my craft in a more open area. Friday night came, along with a little chill. The wool blankets provided just enough warmth for sleeping. However, during the night, I heard the patter of a light rain descending upon us all. Hopes are it stops before the sun rises and morning gun is fired.

Saturday morning was chilly, but bearable. The light showers had ended before dawn, and there was a heavy fog hanging above the battlefield beyond the fort. Knowing New England this fog will burn of as soon as the sun rises above the trees and bears down upon us for the day. I could hear the camp stirring from within my tent, so, I decided to join them before morning gun. I dressed in my short clothes, donned my wool full length green cloak, green wool liberty cap, and headed out to obtain that elixir of life from the dining fly………coffee……..

Officer’s call was struck, so I headed off to the command tent to receive our orders for the day. As the meeting went on, I discovered there were new recruits in the ranks that had not been inoculated for the pox.  It was decided the inoculations would be best done after morning drill, as the men paraded back to the camp. I began to develop an inoculation plan for the men, and scouted out an appropriate area and recruited a nursing staff from the existing camp followers.  As fate would have it, the best location for the procedure was just in front of our dining fly and fire pit. The smoke from the fire will server well to stave off the infection  by purifying the air, and it was on the side of the parade ground making it ideal for the purpose.

The drill went well, the men look sharp and ready to defend the fort if needed. On their march back, they were lined up to receive the inoculation per orders of the commander. Most men took it well, a few were hesitant at the sight of the scalpel, but were reassured by the lovely nursing staff at my side.  The nurses were essential and we all worked as a finely oiled machine. As I finished with the scalpel, I handed it to Nurse Donna, who scrubbed it in the soapy wash, then handed it to nurse Laura for rinse and drying. Meanwhile I was applying the smallpox soaked thread to the newly opened incision. As I finished the inoculation on one soldier, the sanitized scalpel was ready for the next soldier. I was quite impressed with these new nurses, they were not only helpful and efficient, but eased the tensions of the men during the procedure with calming and reassuring words, and a lovely smile.

The battle was upon us following a wonderful nooning prepared by Mr Longtooth. The British regulars pushed the Militia lines, while the regular Continentals were assembled for the final push. I positioned myself and the water-bearing ladies behind the lines. I watched the battle, with an eye on the fallen men in the field. As the lines advanced, and I deemed it safe, I instructed the water bearers to enter the field, to attend to the fallen men. As the battle lines advanced further, I went onto the field, with my hospital flag flying, indicating that the area was under the control of the hospital department. We watered down those that needed it, and covered the faces of those that we beyond our help, and were now in the care of a higher power.
The British regulars were thoroughly routed from the field by the skill and bravery of the American forces. however, I feel this will not be a lasting situation.

As the sun set beyond the camp, and darkness descended upon us,

Categories: Uncategorized

Post navigation

Comments are closed.